Bring It On, Future.

This video was shown to us in class, and I have to say, it gave me a rude shock into the possible future that we will be facing. Personally, I would not want to live in a house like that because I would turn into one big sloth. I am already lazy as it is so I definitely do not need all that technology doing every single thing for me. I can, however, see the appeal of having everything being done in an instant. For example, in the video, it showed that you can buy groceries just with a touch, without having to actually go out to the supermarket. That is very convenient, especially when you are extremely busy (or lazy) and do not have the time to go out.

I guess it depends on a person’s preference. I’m sure there are others out there who would love to live in a house like this, while some would turn away in disgust. It is the same with Google’s upcoming project, Project Glass.

Again, I would not want to have something like that because I just think that it is a little intrusive. Everywhere you go, technology is right in front of your face. Of course, it has its advantages like getting information in an instant, making it a very efficient tool.

I think the future of the Internet is filled with endless possibilities that it is hard to predict what will happen in five or ten years time. Technology is changing rapidly that everything does not stay constant. However, I think this course has helped me grasp the possibilities of what we can expect in the future. You never realize it because the Internet has become very much a part of our lives, but the Internet really has helped the world in so many ways. It has its advantages and disadvantages, of course, but I think the advantages far outweigh the disadvantages. Just look at what we are capable of doing now, just with the help of the Internet. We have the creation of social media, online political campaigns that have resulted in revolutionary changes, citizen journalism, the list is endless.

It makes me excited to see what human beings are going to come up with next. The next Steve Jobs or Mark Zuckerberg are out there, and the thought of the things they will create really makes me look forward to the future.

Leave a Reply

